Draw procedure of the 12th edition of the African Cup of Nations U-17 TOTAL, Tanzania 2019

The draw for the 21st edition of the U-17 Total Africa Cup, Tanzania 2019 will be held on Thursday, December 20, 2018, at Mlimani City Conference Center in Dar es Salaam at 7:30 pm local time (16:30 GMT).

The CAF decided in July 2017 that the format of the qualifying competition should be changed and split according to zones. The qualifiers were played between 19 July and 18 September 2018. At the end of the qualification phase, seven teams joined the hosts Tanzania.

The 8 qualified teams are:

Angola- Cameroon- Guinea- Morocco- Nigeria- Uganda Senegal and Tanzania (host country).

The final phase will be held from 14 to 28 April 2019 in Dar es Salaam. The finalists will represent Africa at the U17 2019 World Cup in Peru. (CAF)

Groupe stage

The top two teams of each group advance to the semi-finals and qualify for the 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup.

Teams are ranked according to points (3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss), and if tied on points, the following tiebreaking criteria are applied, in the order given, to determine the rankings (Regulations Article 72):

  1. Points in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
  2. Goal difference in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
  3. Goals scored in head-to-head matches among tied teams;
  4. If more than two teams are tied, and after applying all head-to-head criteria above, a subset of teams are still tied, all head-to-head criteria above are reapplied exclusively to this subset of teams;
  5. Goal difference in all group matches;
  6. Goals scored in all group matches;
  7. Drawing of lots.

How are teams grouped?

Tanzania being the host association and Guinea being third of the last edition, will be

placed at the 1st level I (The holder of the trophy, Mali and Ghana the finalist of the last

edition are not qualified).

Tanzania will be A1 and Guinea will be B1.

Based on the results of the last edition (final tournament and playoff) ranking will be

the following :

Level 2 (Pot 1): Cameroon and Angola (qualified teams in the Final Tournament).

Level 3 (Pot 2): Morocco, Nigeria, Uganda and Senegal.

The first team drawn from the first pot will be in Group A and a ball will be drawn from Pot 3

containing the position of group A to determine its position (A2-A3-A4); then the second

the team will automatically pull in Group B and a ball will be drawn from Pot 4

determine its position (B2-B3-B4).

For the 4 teams remaining in Zone 2, the ball will shoot first in group A and

a draw of Pot 3 will be made to determine its position (A2-A3-A4). The ball drawn

in second will be in group B and a draw will be made from Pot 4 to determine

its position (B2-B3-B4) from the Pot 4.

The same procedure will be repeated until all teams are drawn at random.

See all The U-17 2019 CAN – DRAW PROCEDURE


Thank you for reading our stories!

Besides news and trends, Regionweek is a media created to serve African young professionals with information that they can put to work in their daily life. Would you like making money with a side hustle business that you can build in your spare time? Today you can learn how to earn extra money and grow meaningful businesses. Check ressources on:

1.Business Ideas - 2.Online Business- 3.How to make money

Post Comment